20.109(S08): Spring 2008 schedule

From OpenWetWare

Revision as of 16:49, 27 March 2008 by AgiStachowiak (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
20.109(S08): Laboratory Fundamentals of Biological Engineering

Home        People        Schedule Spring 2008        Assignments        Lab Basics        OWW Basics       
DNA Engineering        Protein Engineering        Biomaterials Engineering              

MODULE DAY DATE LECTURER TA LAB note
Tue Feb 5 ANS VL, BE Orientation Slides are here (warning: .ppt download)
1 1 Thur Feb 7 BE DW Day 1: DNA engineering using PCR PDF of slides is here
1 2 Tue Feb 12 BE DW Day 2: Clean and cut DNA PDF of slides is here
1 3 Thur Feb 14 BE DW Day 3: Agarose gel electrophoresis PDF of slides is here
President's Day Feb 18 No lab Feb 19 or Feb 20
1 4 Thur Feb 21 BE DW Day 4: DNA ligation and bacterial transformation PDF of slides is here
1 5 Tue Feb 26 BE DW Day 5: Examine candidate clones PDF of slides is here
1 6 Thur Feb 28 BE DW Day 6: Restriction map and tissue culture PDF of slides is here
1 7 Tue Mar 4 BE DW Day 7: Lipofection PDF of slides is here
1 8 Thur Mar 6 BE DW Day 8: FACS analysis
2 1 Tue Mar 11 AJ VL Day 1: Start-up protein engineering 'Introduction to the module' handout available
2 2 Thur Mar 13 AJ VL Day 2: Site-directed mutagenesis 'Rational protein design' handout available
2 3 Tue Mar 18 AJ VL Day 3: Prepare expression system 'Protein expression and purification' handout available
2 4 Thur Mar 20 AJ VL Day 4: Induce protein expression 'Binding and affinity measurements' handout available
Spring Break Mar 24-28 No lab all week
2 5 Tue Apr 1 AJ VL Day 5: Characterize protein expression
2 6 Thur Apr 3 AJ VL Day 6: Assay protein behavior
2 7 Tue Apr 8 AJ VL Day 7: Data analysis
2 8 Thur Apr 10 AJ VL Day 8: Student presentations
3 1 Tues Apr 15 ANS BE Day 1: Start-up biomaterials engineering
3 2 Thur Apr 17 ANS BE Day 2: Initiate cell culture
Patriot's Day April 21-22 No lab Apr 22 or Apr 23
3 3 Thur Apr 24 ANS BE Module 3 Day 3: Testing cell viability
3 4 Tue Apr 29 ANS BE Module 3 Day 4: Preparing cells for analysis
3 5 Thur May 1 ANS BE Module 3 Day 5: Transcript-level analysis
3 6 Tue May 6 ANS BE Module 3 Day 6: Protein-level analysis
3 7 Thur May 8 ANS BE Module 3 Day 7: Wrap-up analysis
3 8 Tue May 13 ANS BE Module 3 Day 8: Student presentations
Thur May 15 No lab session. Evaluations during lecture, then celebratory lunch, place TBD.
Personal tools