20.109(S13): Spring 2013 schedule

From OpenWetWare

Revision as of 10:43, 3 March 2013 by AgiStachowiak (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
20.109(S13): Laboratory Fundamentals of Biological Engineering

Home        Schedule Spring 2013        Assignments       
DNA Engineering        Protein Engineering        Cell Engineering              

Table view with links

MODULE DAY DATE LECTURER TA LAB NOTES
Tue/Wed Feb 5/6 ANS Orientation * Introductory Lecture (PDF)
* Intro Pre-Lab, T/R
* Intro Pre-Lab, W/F
1 1 Thur/Fri Feb 7/8 JR Ian Context-setting and primer design * M1D1 Lecture
* T/R Pre-Lab
* W/F Pre-Lab
1 2 Tue/Wed Feb 12/13 JR Ian DNA extraction * M1D2 Lecture
* T/R Pre-Lab (green text added later)
* W/F Pre-Lab
T/R WAC talk
W/F WAC talk
1 3 Thur/Fri Feb 14/15 JR Ian PCR and paper discussion * M1D3 Lecture
* T/R Pre-Lab
* W/F Pre-Lab
President's Day Feb 18 No lab Feb 19 or Feb 20
1 4 Thur/Fri Feb 21/22 JR Ian DNA cloning * M1D4 Lecture
* T/R Pre-Lab
* W/F Pre-Lab
1 5 Tue/Wed Feb 26/27 JR Ian DNA sequencing and primer analysis * M1D5 Lecture
* T/R Pre-Lab
* W/F Pre-Lab
1 6 Thur/Fri Feb 28/ Mar 1 JR Ian Journal club I * M1D6 Lecture
1 7 Tue/Wed Mar 5/6 JR Ian Phylogenetic analysis
1 8 Thur/Fri Mar 7/8 NO LECTURE TODAY Journal club II
2 1 Tue/Wed Mar 12/13 AJ MM Design mutant
Module 1 Draft Due
2 2 Thur/Fri Mar 14/15 AJ MM Site-directed mutagenesis
2 3 Tue/Wed Mar 19/20 AJ MM Bacterial amplification of DNA
Module 1 Primer Summary Due
2 4 Thur/Fri Mar 21/22 AJ MM Prepare expression system
Spring Break Mar 25-29 No lab all week
2 5 Tue/Wed Apr 2/3 AJ MM Induce protein and evaluate DNA
2 6 Thur/Fri Apr 4/5 AJ MM Purify protein
Module 1 Revision Due
2 7 Tue/Wed Apr 9/10 AJ MM Characterize protein expression
2 8 Thur/Fri Apr 11/12 AJ MM Assess protein function
Patriot's Day April 15-16 No lab Apr 16 or Apr 17
3 1 Thur/Fri Apr 18/19 ANS Design experiment
3 2 Tue/Wed Apr 23/24 ANS Initiate cell culture
Module 2 Report Due MONDAY APRIL 22 by 5 pm for all.
3 3 Thur/Fri Apr 25/26 ANS Testing cell viability
3 4 Tue/Wed Apr 30/May 1 ANS Preparing cells for analysis
3 5 Thur/Fri May 2/3 ANS Initiating transcript and protein assays
3 6 Tue/Wed May 7/8 ANS Transcript-level analysis
3 7 Thur/Fri May 9/10 ANS Protein-level and wrap-up analysis
Module 3 Summary Due
3 8 Tue/Wed May 14/15 ANS Student presentations
Thur May 16 No lab session. Evaluations during lecture, then celebratory lunch, room/time TBD


Google calendar view

I have decided to invite you all to the calendar instead of embedding it here, due to color-coding of assignments not being transferred upon embedding. Please let me know if you did not receive an invitation.

So far quiz dates and major assignments are included. Soon dates for lab notebooks and reflections will be included, along with links to homework assignments.

Correction: I will embed (for those who want privacy), and also invite (for those who want to use their gmail accounts).

Personal tools