20.20(S10): Lecture and studio schedule

From OpenWetWare

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Lecture and Studio Schedule)
Current revision (18:38, 13 April 2010) (view source)
 
(4 intermediate revisions not shown.)
Line 76: Line 76:
| Scientist as activist
| Scientist as activist
|--
|--
-
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed Mar 3 </font color>(RW OoT)<br> <font color = green>Design Day </font color>
+
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed Mar 3 </font color><br> <font color = green>Design Day </font color>
|--
|--
|
|
| Thur Mar 4
| Thur Mar 4
-
| Guest Lecture, [http://www.nytimes.com/1998/02/24/science/scientist-work-mark-ptashne-virtuoso-plucking-violin-secrets-genetic-switches.html?pagewanted=all Mark Ptashne]
+
| Guest Lecture, [http://www.nytimes.com/1998/02/24/science/scientist-work-mark-ptashne-virtuoso-plucking-violin-secrets-genetic-switches.html?pagewanted=all Mark Ptashne] <br> [[Media:MITClass.pdf| pdf of slides]]
|--
|--
! colspan="3" |
! colspan="3" |
Line 120: Line 120:
|[[2020(S10) Lecture:week 8| Week 8]]  
|[[2020(S10) Lecture:week 8| Week 8]]  
| Tue Mar 30
| Tue Mar 30
-
| Parts/Registry
+
| Models/Simulations/Magic
|--
|--
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed Mar 31 <br>Design Day 3  </font color><br>
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed Mar 31 <br>Design Day 3  </font color><br>
-
We'll begin with "Test/Debug"
+
We'll begin with model/simulation of a toggle switch
 +
 
|--
|--
|  
|  
| Thur Apr 1
| Thur Apr 1
-
| Hypothesis-driven Engineering
+
| "Test/Debug"
|--
|--
! colspan="3" |
! colspan="3" |
Line 157: Line 158:
|  
|  
| Thur Apr 15
| Thur Apr 15
-
| Ownership and Sharing
+
| Project work day
|--
|--
! colspan="3" |
! colspan="3" |
Line 171: Line 172:
|  
|  
| Thur Apr 22
| Thur Apr 22
-
|  
+
| Project work day
|--
|--
! colspan="3" |
! colspan="3" |
Line 179: Line 180:
| [[2020(S10) Lecture:week 12| Week 12]]
| [[2020(S10) Lecture:week 12| Week 12]]
| Tue Apr 27  
| Tue Apr 27  
-
| Project work day
+
| Oral presentation instruction
|--
|--
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed Apr 28 <br>Consultations </font color>
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed Apr 28 <br>Consultations </font color>
Line 185: Line 186:
|  
|  
| Thur Apr 29
| Thur Apr 29
-
| Oral presentation instruction
+
| Ownership and Sharing
|--
|--
! colspan="3" |
! colspan="3" |
Line 195: Line 196:
| Project work day
| Project work day
|--
|--
-
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed May 5 </font color> <br>[[20.20(S10): Final presentations|<font color = blue>Final Presentations Day 1</font color>]]
+
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed May 5 </font color> <br>Project work day
-
TIME: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM<br>
+
-
ROOM: 4-163
+
|--
|--
|  
|  
Line 211: Line 210:
| Q/A day<br> interviews <br> Project work day  
| Q/A day<br> interviews <br> Project work day  
|--
|--
-
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed May 12 </font color> <br>[[20.20(S10): Final presentations|<font color = blue>Final Presentations Day 2</font color>]]
+
! colspan="3" | <font color = green> Studio Wed May 12 </font color> <br>[[20.20(S10): Final presentations|<font color = blue>Final Presentations</font color>]]
TIME: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM<br>
TIME: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM<br>
ROOM: 4-163  
ROOM: 4-163  

Current revision

Lecture and Studio Schedule

Topics may change Lecture Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:30-1:00
Studio Wednesdays 2:00-5:00
All sessions meet in 26-152 unless indicated otherwise

LINK DATE TOPIC
Week 1 Tue Feb 2 design, build, test
Orientation ppts NK and RW
Studio Wed Feb 3
Sampling of past projects
Thur Feb 4 science as a take-apart
Week 2 Tue Feb 9 engineering as a rebuild
Studio Wed Feb 10
Broader project landscapes
Thur Feb 11 (RW OoT) decide what's worth doing
Week 3 Tue Feb 16 President's Day Holiday, no lecture
Studio Wed Feb 17 (RW OoT)
Sorting hat into project camps
Thur Feb 18 knowns vs unknowns
Week 4 Tue Feb 23 Backyard Biology
Studio Wed Feb 24
The sorting hat resorts

We'll begin with a preview of the 3 ideas presentations, and a short lecture about regulation in phage lambda
Thur Feb 25 FooCampersGuide to BioEngineering
Week 5 Tue Mar 2 (RW OoT) Scientist as activist
Studio Wed Mar 3
Design Day
Thur Mar 4 Guest Lecture, Mark Ptashne
pdf of slides
Week 6 Tue Mar 9 Project work day in advance of 3 ideas presentations
Studio Wed Mar 10
3 Ideas Presentations

TIME: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
ROOM: 4-163

Thur Mar 11 3 ideas feedback
final project selection
Week 7 Tue Mar 16 System Overviews
Studio Wed Mar 17
Design Day 2: 3 ideas to 1

We'll begin with "Abstraction in action, Pt 1: Systems to Devices"
Thur Mar 18 Abstraction in Action, Pt 2: Let's build a switch
Spring Break Mar 22-26
Week 8 Tue Mar 30 Models/Simulations/Magic
Studio Wed Mar 31
Design Day 3

We'll begin with model/simulation of a toggle switch

Thur Apr 1 "Test/Debug"
Week 9 Tue Apr 6 Project work day in advance of Tech Spec Review
Studio Wed Apr 7
Tech Spec Review

TIME: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
ROOM: 4-163

Thur Apr 8 Tech Spec feedback
Week 10 Tues Apr 13 Reliability
Studio Apr 14
Re-design Day 1
Thur Apr 15 Project work day
Week 11 Tues Apr 20 No lecture, Patriot's Day holiday
Studio Wed Apr 21
Re-design Day 2

Thur Apr 22 Project work day
Week 12 Tue Apr 27 Oral presentation instruction
Studio Wed Apr 28
Consultations
Thur Apr 29 Ownership and Sharing
Week 13 Tue May 4 Project work day
Studio Wed May 5
Project work day
Thur May 6 Q/A day
interviews
Project work day
Week 14 Tue May 11 Q/A day
interviews
Project work day
Studio Wed May 12
Final Presentations

TIME: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
ROOM: 4-163

Thur May 13 Wrap-up
Personal tools