20.109(S09): Spring 2009 schedule

From OpenWetWare

Jump to: navigation, search
20.109(S09): Laboratory Fundamentals of Biological Engineering

Home        People        Schedule Spring 2009        Assignments        Lab Basics        OWW Basics       
Protein Engineering        Expression Engineering        Cell-Biomaterial Engineering              

MODULE DAY DATE LECTURER TA LAB note
Tue Feb 3 ANS Orientation * Introductory Lecture (PDF)
* Intro Pre-Lab, T/R
1 1 Thur Feb 5 AJ NC Day 1: Start-up protein engineering * M1D1 Lecture
* M1D1 Pre-Lab
1 2 Tue Feb 10 AJ NC Day 2: Site-directed mutagenesis * M1D2 Lecture
* M1D2 Pre-Lab
1 3 Thur Feb 12 AJ NC Day 3: Bacterial amplification of DNA * M1D3 Lecture
* M1D3 Pre-Lab
President's Day Feb 16 No lab Feb 17 or Feb 18
1 4 Thur Feb 19 AJ NC Day 4: Prepare expression system * M1D4 Lecture
* M1D4 Pre-Lab
1 5 Tue Feb 24 AJ NC Day 5: Induce protein and evaluate DNA * M1D5 Lecture
* M1D5 Pre-Lab
1 6 Thur Feb 26 AJ NC Day 6: Characterize protein expression * M1D6 Lecture
* M1D6 Pre-Lab
1 7 Tue Mar 3 AJ NC Day 7: Assay protein behavior * M1D7 Lecture
1 8 Thur Mar 5 AJ NC Day 8: Data analysis * M1D8 Lecture
2 1 Tue Mar 10 LS SG Day 1: siRNA design and introduction to cell culture Module 1 Draft Due
* M2D1 Lecture
* M2D1 Pre-Lab
2 2 Thur Mar 12 LS SG Day 2: Journal article discussion * M2D2 Lecture
* M2D2 Pre-Lab, part 1
*Atissa's slides on her user page
* M2D2 Pre-Lab, part 2
2 3 Tue Mar 17 LS SG Day 3: Journal Club NO LECTURE
2 4 Thur Mar 19 LS SG Day 4: Journal Club Lecture: feedback on Module 1 draft reports
*Neal's slides on his user page
Spring Break Mar 23-27 No lab all week
2 5 Tue Mar 31 LS SG Day 5: Transfection * M2D5 Lecture
* M2D5 Pre-Lab
2 6 Thur Apr 2 LS SG Day 6: Luciferase assays and RNA prep Module 1 Final Report Due
* M2D6 Lecture
* M2D6 Pre-Lab
2 7 Tue Apr 7 LS SG Day 7: cDNA synthesis and microarray * M2D7 Lecture
* M2D7 Pre-Lab
2 8 Thur Apr 9 LS SG Day 8: Microarray data analysis * M2D8 Lecture
* M2D8 Pre-Lab, ANS
* M2D8 Pre-Lab, SJG
3 1 Tues Apr 14 ANS LJ Day 1: Start-up biomaterials engineering Module 2 Draft Due *see update*
* M3D1 Lecture
* M3D1 Pre-Lab
3 2 Thur Apr 16 ANS LJ Day 2: Initiate cell culture * M3D2 Lecture
Patriot's Day April 20-21 No lab Apr 21 or Apr 22
3 3 Thur Apr 23 ANS LJ Day 3: Testing cell viability * M3D3 Lecture
3 4 Tue Apr 28 ANS LJ Day 4: Preparing cells for analysis * M3D4 Lecture
* M3D4 Pre-Lab
3 5 Thur Apr 30 ANS LJ Day 5: Transcript-level analysis Module 2 Final Report Due
* M3D5 Lecture
* M3D5 Pre-Lab
3 6 Tue May 5 ANS LJ Day 6: Protein-level analysis *Atissa's slides on her user page
* M3D6 Pre-Lab
3 7 Thur May 7 ANS LJ Day 7: Wrap-up analysis Module 3 Report Due
Chalkboard lecture on drug + gene delivery (won't be posted).
* M3D7 Pre-Lab
3 8 Tue May 12 ANS LJ Day 8: Student presentations Chalkboard lecture: Module 3 analysis/results, scaffold fabrication, clinical examples (won't be posted).
Thur May 14 No lab session. Evaluations during lecture, then celebratory lunch, in 56-614 from 12:30-2 pm.
Personal tools